Monday, January 31, 2011

Polamalu, not Matthews, wins defensive player of the year award

Well, well, well.

As it turns out, the reports that Packers linebacker Clay Matthews won the Associated Press defensive player of the year award were incorrect.

Bob Glauber of Newsday and Brad Biggs of the Chicago Tribune each posted on Twitter that Matthews won the award.

In reality, the award went to Steelers safety Troy Polamalu.

To his credit, Glauber is owning the blunder. “My bad on the Clay Matthews mistake,” Glauber said on Twitter. “Got incorrect info. Bad Twitter moment. My apologies.”

Polamalu received 17 of 50 votes. Matthews got 15. Steelers linebacker James Harrison received eight, Bears defensive end Julius Peppers got six, Bears middle linebacker Brian Urlacher received two, Ravens safety Ed Reed got one, and Ravens defensive tackle Haloti Ngata got one.

author: mike florio

No comments: